It’s Not Fair

Standard

I have two teenaged daughters. Lots of things, I’m told, are ‘not fair’. I was once a teenager and said exactly the same thing to my own mother, who would reply ‘life’s not fair’.

We feel very strongly about ‘fairness’; about justice; about being treated reasonably; about prejudice and bullying……… and on and on the list goes.

I will tell you what’s really ‘not fair’:

Statistics suggest that if we were a Cambodian family, my two girls would have been sold at around six years old. Sold because we were an incredibly poor family who needed the money and couldn’t afford to keep them. The children would have accepted this as ‘normal’ and would probably have been prepared for this eventuality. It would probably now be cheaper to sexually abuse them than to buy a beer.

We are not a Cambodian family and my children are healthy and relatively happy, for teenagers.

How is this fair?

‘To succumb to the enormity of the problem is to fail the one’ (Leigh Ramsey)

What if ‘the one’ was my child? I would make sacrifices for them; I would do anything in my power for them.

To be ‘fair‘, am I willing to do anything in my power to make a difference for their counterparts elsewhere?

We can’t do something for everyone, but we can definitely do something for someone.

Our family is passionate about fairness – at least we like to believe that we are.

2 thoughts on “It’s Not Fair

  1. My kids are much younger (2 and 4). My 4 year-old says “It’s not fair” all the time! I like your story about a family in Cambodia, I often try to explain to my kids what is ACTUALLY fair. Great topic 🙂

Leave a Reply

