Foundations

Standard

“Therefore whoever hears these sayings of Mine, and does them, I will liken him to a wise man who built his house on the rock”

– Jesus

I was thinking about this.

I got carried away in the imagery of it.

I was wondering what things would be included in a good foundation for a building. I considered what sorts of materials would be strong enough to stand through a storm. Then I thought about how those physical ideas might approximate to spiritual strength and stuff like that.

I also was thinking about what, in life, might be a non-solid type of foundation to build on, like a sort of spiritual sand or something.

Then I read this verse again and realised I’d managed to miss the point entirely.

This isn’t about building a house at all.

It is about obedience or not.

Jesus is simply saying that it is really, really, really, really sensible to listen carefully to what he says, and then do it; that this will stop me from getting wobbly when life gets really difficult.

Simple. Except for the ‘do it’ part.

Leave a Reply

