4km is further than I remember

Standard

I have decided to start exercising.

This isn’t as sudden as it sounds. I have been procrastinating very effectively over this for a long time. Years actually, now that I think about it.

Two things have motivated me to take action NOW:

The first was a post on another blog I read – Fatso. Feel free to read this if you want a similar kick up the backside (and Thank You again to the writer of that post if you read this).

The second was a ‘goal setting’ exercise I had to do as part of a course I just started. For this, I had to pin down some specific long term goals and then break them down into bite-sized chunks. One of my goals is to have good health when I get old. In order to reach this goal, I need to start improving my health and fitness NOW……

My goal for today was to take the dog for a 4km walk (2.5miles)

This might not sound like a huge thing, but please bear in mind that the furthest I have walked in quite some time has been from my car into a building or that journey in reverse.

4km-walk1I planned the walk so that it was almost exactly 4km (very slightly over) thinking that this was not very far and would be an easy walk to begin with. My two teenagers walk this distance, along much of this same route, every day of the week, just going to school and home again.

It was a pleasant walk which took us through some parkland and down footpaths. If I can muster up the energy to do it again next weekend as planned, I will try to remember to take a camera.

I also need to remember next time that lunchtime is not the best time for a walk. It was about 28°C (82.4°F) with a gentle breeze. Lovely to be sitting out in the shade, but not so good for longish walks.

Dog1It took me about 50 minutes and I seriously thought I might have to carry the dog home. He is not small. He is of a ‘senior’ age. Obviously he is not as fit as I thought either. By the time we got home, the poor boy was walking very, very, slowly and I was saying ‘come on, nearly home’ in an encouraging voice.

I took this photo after we got home and he’d had a bit of a rest. He was wagging his tail happily.

So, what did I learn from the experience?
  • Walks are best taken either very early or very late – not at midday.
  • Mr N, the dog, likes walks, but not ones that are too long.
  • I am even less fit than I thought.
  • I have muscles in my legs and these are used for walking.
  • 4km is further than I remember.
2 thoughts on “4km is further than I remember

Leave a Reply

