Responsibility

Standard

“I am responsible. When anyone, anywhere, reaches out for help, I want the hand of AA always to be there. And for that: I am responsible.”

– Responsibility Declaration of Alcoholics Anonymous

I find many, many things in AA that can apply to many different areas of my life. I suspect they could probably apply to absolutely any area of absolutely anyone’s life but I’m not going to make assumptions about you. You might be an exception.

I’ve had this quotation buzzing around my head for a few days. It communicates two things to me:

    • Someone read this before I did. Someone decided to accept this responsibility. When I walked through the door of an AA meeting for the first time, someone was there for me. I reached out for help and found a bunch of people ready to take my hands. Many people have been there for me since my first faltering steps into sobriety.
    • Just because I haven’t had a drink for a while doesn’t mean that I can stop going to meetings and ‘drop the baton’. It’s now my turn to accept responsibility. When someone reaches out to AA for help, I need to be ready to take their hand and be there for them as they take steps away from the madness of alcoholism.

Many who are much more ‘quotable’ than I am have spoken of the importance of passing on what we have received. John F Kennedy, Bill Gates, and many others have repeated or paraphrased the words of Jesus Christ, who said:

From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded; and from the one who has been entrusted with much, much more will be asked.

Lk 12:48 (NIV)
Leave a Reply

