Stuff your job

Standard

Dear Mr X

I recently applied for a job advertised by you on xxxx.com.

Job advertPlease note the following key phrases:

  • Office Admin
  • Receiving phone calls
  • Training and support
  • Central location
  • Flexible hours
  • Top hourly rate
  • Full time work
  • Free onsite parking

You invited me for an interview where you told me a little about the job. You explained that I would be part of a team knocking on doors and letting people know about available Diploma courses, fully funded by the Government. The working day would be 2pm to 6pm from Mon-Fri, with optional Saturdays. It was not explained clearly what is supposed to happen if a person is interested in doing one of these courses. I was told I would need to provide a Business Number and would be effectively self-employed and working as a contractor. You asked if could I start immediately. I was somewhat confused but desperate for any work and off I went.

I enjoyed my Tuesday afternoon working with that team and felt that we got on well. I was encouraged and given very positive feedback by other team members. I arrived home with my feet in shreds due to walking all afternoon in ‘interview’ shoes that were not so comfortable. I was optimistic though.

The next day (Wednesday) the car broke down on the way to meet the team and I phoned to let them know. You spoke to me on the phone saying that you had received negative feedback about me from a team member. Apparently I was ‘over-complicating things’ – whatever that means. I suspect it means I was asking too many questions where answers didn’t yet exist. I felt hurt that not even suggestions for improvement had been offered previously; that the negative feedback had been accepted without question; and that I was only given the information because my car broke down and I phoned. You said that you wanted to put me on another team instead, where processes were more streamlined.

Nothing could be done that day (Wednesday), but you promised to speak to the leader of the new team and let me know if I could work Thursday and Friday of that week.

I sent a text message on Thursday morning asking if I would be able to work Thurs/Fri, as I had heard nothing. I received a text message saying that I would be starting with a new team on the Monday and would need to meet the team leader at 12.30pm at a particular railway Station. I replied asking if I could work with my original team for the rest of the week and received a further text saying simply, ‘Sorry – No’.

On the Friday I sent an email with a list of specific points needing a response and sent the same email again this morning (Monday), adding a further question about where exactly at the Station I should meet the team leader.

Today (Monday) I made my way to the station as instructed in your most recent communication. I waited until 12.45pm and was just about to give up hope when I finally received a call from you. You informed me that you no longer intend to move me to a new team. You told me that processes have been streamlined a little more for my original team and that I should wait patiently for another 25 minutes and they will retrieve me from a spot outside the station. You told me that despite the negative feedback you had received, you were prepared to offer me a ‘second chance’. What??? I object to this and point out that the ‘first chance’ had only been used up because of a two-faced team member who gave good feedback to my face and bitched about me afterwards. That in fact it is the backbiting team member who needs a ‘second chance’.

At some place in the conversation, I saw red and raised my voice in frustration. You were not happy about that and threatened me with loss of job. I apologise for shouting ‘Stuff your job’ and hanging up the phone. It was rude of me and I shouldn’t have done it.

I was told at the interview that I should have received an email containing ‘information’. Despite asking several times for this to be resent, I have never seen this email. It is not in my junk mail folder either. Come to think of it, all meaningful communication between us has either been via text message or verbal. A more cynical person than I might wonder if this is deliberately done in order to avoid having things in writing.

Along with other questions, I have asked repeatedly for confirmation of the amount of payment I should expect to receive for work last Tuesday. Neither this question nor any other of my emailed questions has received a response. To date it has cost me a considerable amount of money for the privilege of working with you. I suspect that I will receive nothing.

I have reported the misleading advertisement to the website concerned.

I respectfully request that you insert your job into the bodily orifice where the great bright orb fails to provide illumination.

Yours faithfully,

Me

 

I know, I know…. I still need to deal with some resentment here, but I’m feeling heaps better just putting it all into words. I still need a job though….. 😦

4 thoughts on “Stuff your job

Leave a comment